extended cranking time

louielouie

hiya.
newbie here.
in 1990 i got a jeep cherokee.
the engine will turn over for what seems like a full thirty seconds sometimes when i try to cold start.
after it has cranked over sometimes, when i try again it starts right up.
for a re-start it starts right up also.
i have just assumed that this is the way it is.
i talked to another jeep owner and he said his does the same thing and his wife's starts right up.
what's wrong with mine?????? jeep that is.

Re: RE: HowdyHo!

Welcome to Jeepz!!!! Sorry I can't help (TJ owner), but you've come to the right place. There's a BUNCH of very knowledgable XJ owners on here and I'm sure they'll help you out.

mud

Hey there, my YJ does the same thing! I can tell you what WILL NOT solve the problem though... these are things I have done thinking it would help. Optima Red top battery, new starter, new plugs, wires, distributer cap, rotor, and ignition coil. If you find the problem be sure to let me know! I just chalked it up to being an older engine (1991) that has almost 206k miles on it! Oh and welcome to jeepz!

Joop

Re: RE: Spare on the roof made for some excessive roll

also, when you get in, turn the key on (not to start) and wait 5 sdeconds then try to start - see if it makes a difference. I know my GC takes longer to start if I don't do this.

Re: Mingez went wheeling today. ***Warning!!! LOTS of pics

Mine is bass ackwards the colder the outside temperature the quicker it starts. The remote start will start on the first crank cycle when is cold when it is warm it will start on the second. I would agree with the fuel filter thing. If would definatly be a good place to start.

Re: Mingez went wheeling today. ***Warning!!! LOTS of pics