Horsepower!!!???

tjric

Keep in mind I am not a mechanically inclined person, I have just started to work on my own jeep, & pretend I know nothing about engines.....

I have a 2002 tj X that I have recently switched from a daily driver to a wekeend toy. I am not ready to go nutz with it yet but I am curiouse about simple, EASY, bolt on style upgrades that can be done to the 4.0L engine to increase horsepower. I read all the magazines and know about the performance chip and cold air intake BUT what do you all have to say about those? What other ideas has everyone come up with? I love creativity when it increases horsepower!!!! One day I will yank the 4.0 and drop in a nasty small block, re-gear it, put in new axles, and the whole 9 yards but I am not ready for that yet...I still want this vehicle dependable because my 3 year old son loves it and I want to keep him safe.

I look forward to you all have to say...

This is a subject that has been highly debated among owners of Jeeps with the venerable 4.0 for as long as it's been around. Obviously there are dozens and dozens of aftermarket products out there all claiming substantial performance increases but at what cost? The $$ per H.P. figures are generally pretty high and of those additional ponies, how much is really usable? Even those manufactures that provide "dyno run sheets" can be misleading due to all the possible variables involved in obtaining the claimed data.

I hate to refer you outside of the "family" here but a very good discussion on this subject can be found at Rubicon Owners Forum - View topic - Horsepower increase questions..

If nothing else, it may give you a reason to pause and think before rushing out and plunking down a lot of cash for bolt-ons that may or may not give you the satisfaction you were hoping for.

-Phil