Need help with my 1990YJ intake system

Shane

ok i've got a 1990jeep wrangler, with a 4" lift; currently on 32x11.5's. its got the 4.2L carburated I6. I'm looking to buy the Holly intake manifold from JC Whitney, and the offenhauser 4barrel carb to go along with it. Currently i ahve little/no use out of Fifth gear, and the jeep is just generally underpowered for having such a beefy engine. Any comments, or previous experiences with these parts? Or better yet, are there better/cheaper parts out there that i just dont know about? Thanks a billion!![addsig]

I am not a mechanic or any thing but if you have a Inline 6 and are under powered you may need to change the gearing in the front and rear ends. Ring and pinion magic but I do not know what gearing you are running that will be the 1st step. Tug[addsig]

I am not as knowledgable about my jeep as the rest of you are. Its a stock 1990 YJ, so whatever gearing comes on the inline 6 is what i have. i do fine around and up hills, just a big problem from 55-70, i think i've hit 85once =P

also wanted to add, as far as modifications go-once i do some engine work (mainly intake/exhause revamp) what else should I look for, as far as non expensive mods for a jeep that is wheeled like 30%of the time, this is my daily driver =)

edited by: Shane, Apr 21, 2003 - 04:51 AM[addsig]

well, start with the usual, shane. Get a K&N Air filter. Either the cone or just replacement kit. Then start looking at your exhaust system. A hi-flow cat and muffler combo will increase power. But Tug is right. You've probably only got 3.07 gears in your differentials, and you need to go up to 4.11s. This is a ratio, you'll learn more as you hear about it. From there you should be good until your engine blows.... then just swap in a 350 small block.

c[addsig]