Tires

untamed

I see soooo many jeep pics that have BFG all Terrain tires on them. Are they really that good of tire? I always heard the weren't very good offroad especially in the mud. Just wondering.

They suck in the mud. I love them in sand. I now run BFg mud terrains and it's the exact opposite. Good in the mud. Dig to oblivion in the sand.

I have Cooper muds right now and I LOVE them but as a daily they don't last long. Ive been looking at All Terrains and the tires I use to get are only sold on the west coast at Les Schwab. So I'm not quite sure which ones I want. I do a lot of hunting and drive on a lot of muddy roads in the fall and winter. Unless there is a all Terrain that rocks in the mudd. I might just stay with muds.

I would stick with MUDs. I did the all terrain thing. Ok for a dd but any play time there no fun. My bfgs wear great I have 30,000 Kms on them and they still have 8/32nds left. But I'm an alignment tech so it's always dead on.

There is a trade off when it comes to tires imo. mud tires suck on road but are great off road, all-terrains are nice on the road but suck in the mud, and pack up. The bfg,s mud terrains are kinda in the middle, they are a all around decent tire which is why I suspect they are so popular. They are not as aggressive as say a supper swamper but more aggressive than a all-terrain, the side walls are very tough from what I hear but they are stiff and need aired down a little more than most to get a good bite. from what I hear their isn't much differance in road noise between the two. I have not owned BFG tires so I cant say from experience, just what people I know have told me.

I owned the old BFG muds and they didn't last long but the new ones don't look as aggressive so maybe they might last a little longer.