4wd low

Nymisus

ok so i am new to the whole 4wd concept and have used the 4wd hi a couple of times offroad, never the 4wd low....so yesterday i decided to put it in low just for the heck of it in my driveway.....really hard to back up kinda sounded like it wasn't all the way in gear or something so when i got to the street i put it in hi then back in low, same thing going forward, really hard to drive, went maybe 50 yards got into second, but still supper slow and revving really high....any ideas on what is happening, would it be different offroad?? by the way its a 2.5l[addsig]

That is 4low there is nothing wrong with it..It is low (it is geared
super low with high rpm's ) this is used for steep climbs or pulling
out a big hummer. It will be rally slow and the engine will sound like
you are doing 90 mph....hope this helps .... :-D [addsig]

He is right. There is nothing wrong with it. I use it all the time in the swamps in Florida. Works great in muddy, or high water conditions, when you are concerned about stalling out.[addsig]

yup..it's just geared really low..in fact, even with the 33's I can't start out in 4 low 1st gear..i have to use second to get rolling...btw....not a good idea to use 4wd on dry pavement.

Rob :p :cool: :) [addsig]

no offense, but are you kidding?
SOunds like yours is acting normal, but just for reference on the newer jeeps it is recommended that you shift into 4WD Lo from a neutral rolling start (maybe why it sounded like it wasnt in gear) -- If you have your owner's manual or (even better) the video that came with your jeep it will outline how to do it. [addsig]

I dream in 4WD LO and love to drive in the same. Cause when it is time for the low gears you are into the trail real good. That is when I get the best Goose Bumps riding up on the edge of the seat and ezen thru the good stuff.